top of page

Diary of the internship experience at Nanfang Metropolis Daily (5)

28/07/2021 Learn to use Final Cut; My new understanding of the operation of traditional Chinese news platform; Videography; Interesting interview experience

Making headers with Final Cut:

There are many templates for headers on the company computer, but they need to be made by adjusting the colours and sizes with Final cut. It was my first time using this software, but overall it was easy to use, and the mode in it is more like iMovie and Capcut.


Regarding knowledge of the operation of traditional Chinese news platforms:

During my year2 studying, I studied a lot about the media market and media culture, but before that it was all based on theoretical research from textbooks. It was only during my internship that I was able to gain a deeper understanding. The news industry in China has gradually moved towards short-form video platforms, which are more popular when launched in the short-form format, while the traditional paper media is still holding on, but sales are not as good as they used to be. The Nanfang Metropolis Daily newspaper, which is part of the media group I interned at, is one of the top newspapers in China, but in recent years it has started to launch the N Video App and to publish videos through the short video model to gain more attention from young people.


Videography:

The videos shot in our interviews are handheld, but the photographer must keep his hands steady. When going to a new location, I need to test the white balance in advance, adjust the overall colour and make sure there is enough light.

Through different experiences I have learned that good pre-production photography can reduce a lot of post-production adjustments. And that photographers need to bring monitoring headphones and adjust the microphone in real time.


Interesting interview experience:

This is an issue about elders talking about the cultural heritage of the Cantonese language. I interviewed many elders in the public park and the elders were very willing to talk about their understanding, including them sharing the Cantonese environment they used to live in and the one they are living in now. Some elders even added me to their social media, hoping to see our video posted. I still remember the day when it was pouring rain at the end of the day and neither my colleague nor I had an umbrella with us, so we ran wildly to get out of the rain, covering the camera and microphone with our bodies.


55 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page