top of page

Diary of the internship experience at Nanfang Metropolis Daily (2)

06/07/2021 Interview and Edit videos independently:

This was the first time I interviewed with another colleague after the last time our leader led an interview out on the streets. Our video was to do some Cantonese cultural communication through a creative new approach. I designed the content of our video on Monday and Tuesday and made a word interpretation game using Cantonese slang with food, where passers-by would draw words from a box with slang for Cantonese things printed on it and explain them. I searched for a lot of relevant slang words and noted the corresponding meanings. Again, I made an outline of the interview and sent it to the leader for review. Unlike before, I was also more proficient in writing the outline this time, knowing what to cover and what would make the video content interesting. After the leader had confirmed the content, I went out for an interview with another colleague with a camera, microphone, our company logo board and also my printed interview outline.



We went to the old district of Guangzhou this time because we thought there were more Cantonese speakers in that area and that would increase our chances of successful interview. And I learnt from these two interviews it takes a lot of courage to talk to passers-by, but it has honed my communication skills so that I am not afraid to talk to strangers in the future and will also help my communication skills with other colleagues in the workplace in my future job. In the last video clip, we found that there were a lot of interesting points missing, so in this interview I should have guided the passers-by more, instead of asking questions to the outline of the interview, I got the hang of the interview; I followed the passers-by’ words and ask questions to our topic.


We went out for a full day, interviewed 11 people and recorded two videos. Of course, the praise I received from my boss back at the office made me feel my efforts had been recognised to the fullest.


This is the first time I have edited and produced a video on my own. Following the senior's method, I divided the different interviewers into different colours to improve the efficiency of my editing.


26 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page